Sir Lenny Henry to host the 2017 Lycamobile British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards

Sir Lenny Henry to host the 2017 Lycamobile British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards

It has been announced today that the 2017 Lycamobile British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards (BEDSAs) will be hosted by Sir Lenny Henry on March 18th, at the Hilton Park Lane, London.

The awards, which are now in its third year, are organised by Sporting Equals, the national partner of Sport England and advisors to the Department of Culture Media and Sport. Sponsored by Lycamobile, the world’s largest mobile virtual network operator, the Awards are leading the way in recognising and celebrating sporting excellence within Black, Asian and minority ethnic (BAME) communities.

Sir Lenny Henry, commenting on his role in this year’s awards, said: "It's an absolute honour to be hosting the 2017 awards in what has been an amazing sporting year. I’m looking forward to hosting an event that rewards the achievements of elite athletes, coaches, administrators, community volunteers and other inspirational people!”

Arun Kang, Sporting Equals CEO said “Sporting Equals are honoured that Sir Lenny Henry has agreed to host our third annual awards. This demonstrates the success and popularity of the event which celebrates the achievement in sport of Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic communities and will help inspire a nation to get active. We look forward to receiving nominations from grass roots heroes.”

Allirajah Subaskaran, Chairman of Lycamobile said: “We are honoured to support the British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards, celebrating the impressive contribution of sportsmen and women across Britain's Black, Asian and minority ethnic communities. In recognising those who are making a positive contribution to sport at both a national and grass roots level, these awards help to drive change and inspire the next generation towards sporting excellence.”

As of today, the nominations process for the 2017 awards are now open and you can follow the latest news and get involved by following #BEDSAs.

The Lycamobile BEDSAs are supported by Sport England, UK Sport, the Tennis Foundation, Youth Sports Trust, England Athletics and The Army.

The award categories include:

  • The Lycamobile Sportsman of the Year Award
  • Sportswoman of the Year Award
  • The Sport England Community Sports Project of the Year Award
  • The Youth Sports Trust Sports Person of the Year Award
  • The UK Sport Inspirational Performance of the Year Award
  • The Coach of the year Award
  • The Army Unsung Hero Award
  • The Tennis Foundation Special Achievement Award
  • The Lifetime Achievement of the Year Award.

Previous winners at the Lycamobile BEDSAs include Denise Lewis, Lewis Hamilton, Jessica Ennis Hill, Moeen Ali and Frank Bruno.

Sponsorships and Partnerships
Back to top
Scroll down